Font Size

Glaucoma FAQs (cont.)

Are There Different Types of Glaucoma?

The two main types of glaucoma are open-angle glaucoma and angle-closure glaucoma. In angle-closure glaucoma, the normal drainage canals within the eye are physically blocked. Angle-closure glaucoma can be acute (sudden in onset) or chronic (lasting a long time), while open-angle glaucoma is usually chronic. In open-angle glaucoma, the drainage system itself is open but microscopic abnormalities within it prevent normal outflow of fluid. Both angle-closure glaucoma and open-angle glaucoma may cause optic nerve damage and vision loss with or without symptoms. Glaucoma is either primary (occurring without an underlying other cause or other eye disease) or secondary (related to other reasons, such as trauma, inflammation or medication). Subtypes of glaucoma include, among others, congenital glaucoma, childhood glaucoma, and normal (or low) tension glaucoma.

Medically Reviewed by a Doctor on 3/16/2015

Must Read Articles Related to Glaucoma FAQs

Acute Angle-Closure Glaucoma
Acute Angle-Closure Glaucoma Acute angle-closure glaucoma is caused by a rapid or sudden increase in pressure inside the eye, called intraocular pressure (IOP). The condition requires treat...learn more >>
Adult Glaucoma Suspect
Adult Glaucoma Suspect Glaucoma is usually high pressure insid...learn more >>
Angle Recession Glaucoma
Angle Recession Glaucoma Angle recession glaucoma refers to a group of ocular disorders that occur after the eye undergoes learn more >>

Patient Comments & Reviews

The eMedicineHealth doctors ask about Glaucoma FAQs:

Glaucoma - Symptoms

Which symptoms led to the discovery of your glaucoma?

Read What Your Physician is Reading on Medscape

Glaucoma, Primary Congenital »

By definition, primary congenital glaucoma is present at birth; however, its manifestations may not be recognized until infancy or early childhood.

Read More on Medscape Reference »

Medical Dictionary