A vegan is a person who eats only fruits, grains, nuts, seeds, vegetables, and vegetable products and consumes no animal or dairy products of any kind.
The word vegan on prepared-food labels means that the product is made entirely from vegetables and vegetable products and contains no meat, fish, eggs, milk, or dairy products.
eMedicineHealth Medical Reference from Healthwise
To learn more visit Healthwise.org
© 1995-2012 Healthwise, Incorporated. Healthwise, Healthwise for every health decision, and the Healthwise logo are trademarks of Healthwise, Incorporated.