Font Size

Diet and Nutrition

Nutrition Guidelines Overview

Your understanding of nutrition can be your key to optimal health. This article covers the essential nutrition information that you need for health:

  • dietary guidelines,
  • dietary reference intakes,
  • food guide pyramid,
  • calories,
  • carbohydrates,
  • protein,
  • fats,
  • vitamins,
  • minerals, and
  • phytochemicals.

The Council on Food and Nutrition of the American Medical Association defines nutrition as "the science of food; the nutrients and the substances therein; their action, interaction, and balance in relation to health and disease; and the process by which the organism (i.e. body) ingests, digest, absorbs, transports, utilizes, and excretes food substances." The purpose of our diet is to consume foods that provide the six essential nutrients:

  • carbohydrates,
  • protein,
  • fat,
  • vitamins,
  • minerals, and
  • water.

The correct amount and variety of food provides the correct amount of nutrients for health and weight management.

Must Read Articles Related to Nutrition and Diet

Anal Fissure (Symptoms, Causes, Diet, and Treatments)
Anal Fissure Anal fissures are small tears in the skin overlying the anus. Anal fissures are generally caused by learn more >>
Weight Loss
Weight Loss and Control Obesity is simply the accumulation of excess body fat. It is much more than that, however. Obesity is a chronic (long-term) disease that is very difficult to tr...learn more >>

Patient Comments & Reviews

The eMedicineHealth doctors ask about Diet and Nutrition:

Diet and Nutrition - Guidelines

What dietary tips and tricks for losing weight have you found successful?

Diet and Nutrition - Calories

Consuming fewer calories than you burn is the only surfire way to lose weight. How do you make sure you eat the right amount of calories every day?

Read What Your Physician is Reading on Medscape

Nutrition for the Female Athlete »

Inadequate nutritional intake is more common in female athletes than in their male counterparts.

Read More on Medscape Reference »

Medical Dictionary